Reflection…..which path next

On a damp grey New Years’ day afternoon, I strolled hand in hand with my partner Mark through the tranquil grounds of the National Arboretum at Alrewas. A recent illness had robbed me of energy and though soaked through, I relished the rain on my face and didn’t care that my freshly straightened hair was crinkling as it became more and more sodden, and I relished the time away from four walls to ponder.

2011 had been a mix of good, but mostly bad times and I was glad to see the back of it;  the death of my brother which had hit me harder than I realised and a bout of ill-health (novel to me) which had plagued me since August and culminated in an op just before Christmas. Last year had also brought with it 2 special new entries into my life.  My partner Mark and the adoption of Priestly my brother’s beautiful cat.

I was hoping that I would come away from my outing with a fresh mind, but instead I have so many uncertainties whirling around my head that I don’t know what to do or where to start.  I know that my priority is to get my health levels back up,  so that is one focus, but I need direction on my career. Should I continue to work part-time in the Voluntary Sector doing something unconnected to what I really want to do as well as for myself as a freelance designer, or should I look at up-rooting and looking for work further afield in the creative sector, which is my first love?

One thing which the death of my brother has taught me is to live life to the full and make the most of every opportunity.

My latest reflection has left me wondering as to which path to follow next. My thinking cap is well and truly on…

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a comment