100 Day Goal Chapter 2 – Wobbles and Reiterations

Well! Let’s recap!

After signing up to the 100 Day Goal with the Business Bakery, I have been keeping a journal about how plans are cooking up at the end of week one! Will it be a souffle fit for a Queen or a bit of a soggy bottom?

Day Four

The day started with waking from fitful back to work sweats and the lovely man flu snores of my beloved Kev.  Back in the ‘day job’ today. I’d missed my colleaugues, but time out had made me realise how much I want to be doing my own thing, and for those who just tuned in, that’s to kick my Freelance creative business up the bum after a year out. Starting with arranging studio space.

After flopping into my chair at the end of the day mentally drained from spreadsheet overload, I had a ‘putting the world to rights’ chat with my sister Heather (the level headed one of us). This gave me renewed determination to make Saturday the day to speak with the neighbour about stage one of operation studio space (aka claiming some of our land back) “Get awf our land lady!”.

Attempted to rebook PPL insurance, but glitches meant having to delay.

With the assistance of Kev, we made a start on looking proper at studio spaces within budget. At least it was a step forward.

Oh and as well as healthy mindset plans, I bought a hula hoop to make a start on a healthy body… just hope it goes over my boobs and hips without getting stuck!

Day Five

After another night interspersed with what seemed like a pneumatic drill going off in my ear (actually Kev’s snores), I woke with renewed determination.

I constructed the hula hoop and found it did go over said boobs and hips. I proceded to gyrate my ample hips and after knocking the contents of the coffee table onto the floor, managed a few gyrations. Ouch! That hula hoop hurts! It has knobly bits on it!

After returning from work, Kev and I did further studio research and with much gusto (Kev’s even more of a spreadsheet nerd than I am), the findings were organised into a spreadsheet for reference. Name, dimensions, optional extras, price, comments). It’s a good way to be organised, as you can forget what you’ve looked at and useful for ironing out pro’s and con’s.

Day 5 also saw me dipping my toe into the Facebook ad pond. I set up a 7 day promoted post. I’ll be feeding back on findings when it ends, but received lots of advice and sharing of experiences from fellow goalies, both Negatives and Positives.

Day Six

Oh deary me! Today I got the mid week, back to work blues <everyone sing along>. Again, received lots of support from goalies. But! I renewed my Artist membership and PPL insurance in readiness for getting cracking in the studio when it’s up and running!


I’m so grateful for the support of my fella Kev who has been assisting me with what is feasible and what is not in studio options…

Me: Oh I like that one

Kev: Yes, but it’s too wide

Me: How about this one?

Kev: Yes it’s very nice dear but in no way shape or form will you fit your copious amount of art stuffs in!

Armed with our spreadsheet, we will be going along to view a few on Sunday <eeeeeek excited>.

Day Seven

Today was reviewing plans day. So I made a to-do list.

  • Speak with neighbour re boundary
  • Recover from angst levels
  • Order fencing
  • Order studio
  • Eek with excitement
  • Get quote for electrics
  • Try not too get alarmed from costs
  • Foundations/Fence
  • Plan studio layout
  • Remind self it’s not Dr Who’s tardis
  • Get studio erected
  • Eeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeek wear   incontinence pad in case excitement is too much
  • Arrange power
  • Furniture/Decorating
  • Don’t go overbaord… yeah right! I’m a creative!!!!
  • Name studio – I name this studio …?
  • Create artwork to sell and fund studio… oooo arty time
  • Plan workshops/Exhibitions/Events
  • Grand opening – open house with have a go’s…and carrot cake…must have carrot cake!
  • Smile! You did it!

Day Eight

Made it to the end of first week back at work! Yippeee!!

Not alot done plan wise, but made time to finish/create some artwork which I shared.

What was productive today was the lovely feedback on my artwork and re-iteration that people do like what I do!

Did have to raise my eyebrows this week at a colleaugue who also has a sideline building family business. She was discussing tax and I said I’d got to kick my butt to do mine. She scoffed what have you got to do tax for?!!!! Erm I have a freelance creative business! I do make some money in designs and artwork you know! It isn’t just a hobby!

Creatives do struggle to be taken seriously in business at times!


Well this creative is determined to create a business…and a business which will be loving what I do and paying bills as opposed to working for others just to pay bills!

 

That’s all for now folks!

www.redroocreatives.co.uk

Leave a comment

Filed under 100 Day Goal

Leave a comment